How to leave a copy of email on mail server when using POP

How to leave a copy of email on mail server when using POP

Wed 04 April 12 Comments are Closed

When you retrieve emails from a POP3 email account, the emails are deleted from the Mail Server by default after they are downloaded to your computer. However, if you want to check your emails from multiple computers, you must configure Mail Client to not delete the emails on your Mail Server. This scenario is most common for people who want to check their home Internet service provider (ISP) email account from work and download the emails for permanent storage on their home computer.

When you leave emails on your Mail Server, you can choose from several options to delete your emails. To make your choice, you need to consider several factors about your email usage, such as how long you want the emails to be accessible from multiple computers and the storage limits imposed by your email server administrator. If you exceed your storage limit, you might be unable to receive new emails or might be charged additional fees.

In Outlook, it allows you to select a time duration for leaving email on the Mail Server.

1. On the ‘Tools’ menu, click ‘E-mail Accounts’.
2. Click ‘View or change existing e-mail accounts’, and then click ‘Next’.
3. Select your email account, and then click ‘Change’.
4. Click ‘More Settings’.
5. Click the ‘Advanced’ tab, and under ‘Delivery’, select the ‘Leave a copy of messages on the server’ check box.
6. Under ‘Internet E-mail Settings’ dialog box, select one of the following options:

a) Remove from server after x days
Emails are downloaded to your computer but remain on the Mail Server for the number of days that you specify. This is the most common setting for people who want to read their emails at work but also download them for permanent storage on their home computer. We recommend that you choose the smallest number of days that suits your needs. The longer you leave emails on your Mail Server, the greater the risk of exceeding your mailbox size quota.

b) Remove from server when deleted from ‘Deleted Items’
Emails are downloaded to your computer but also remain on the Mail Server indefinitely until you delete the emails in Outlook and empty the ‘Deleted Items’ folder. Just deleting the email doesn’t remove the email from the Mail Server.

*** If you do not select either check box, emails are left on the server indefinitely. You can eventually exceed your mailbox quota, unless you connect to the Mail Server from another computer that has Outlook configured to remove emails from the Mail Server.

Rate This Entry:
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...
Share
Categories
Tags
  • There are no tags for this post
lance

back to top
×